Review: El Schlong and Guantanamo party program

Last Friday (the 22nd of June) I, distracted somewhat by the Greece-Germany game attended a concert at the Alive club.

First up was Guantanamo party program.  They’re a band who have been described as being “post-metal” as well as “apocalyptic hardcore” (I’ve heard the band described as being “emo-core” as well).  As someone who is a hardcore wool (someone who says he’s a fan but really doesn’t know much about the culture of the thing he likes) I’m not so good on labels; I’ll just describe them as playing heavy slow music with screaming.  Whatever label you wish to put onto them, I found them to be alright.  They play melodic moody music, music to keep the attention.  They play technically well, and I was impressed with their vocalist Dariusz Liboski.

Check out their music here.

The headline band was El Schlong.  I was recommended to attend this concert by a member of the band herself, who wrote on this blog (I’m all for people recommending me to attend their concerts, as long as they’re not some pop shite.  This blog doesn’t have the biggest readership, but every little bit helps).  They describe themselves as being “avant-metal”, a label which they give to themselves largely as they don’t really fit into any label, being a mix of styles.   They have growly-type vocals with occasional singing.  I found them to be very listenable; intelligent music that involved some heavy riffing but also some slower melodic unorthodox sections.  Each member of the three-piece were skillful players.

The atmosphere was fairly OK, they appeared to have had some friends from New Zealand (where they hail from, though they now live in Berlin) who made a bit of noise.  This wasn’t a barnstorming gig.  A brief perusal of their songs live on youtube shows that they are a band which inspires action in a crowd.  I guess that Wrocław’s gig saw them with people unfamiliar with their music and style.  Certainly, all I did myself was sit and nod my head to their music, so I didn’t myself contribute to the atmosphere, lazy bastard sheep that I am.  (Their most rocking-out song saw a man go and stand in front of the headbangers and take ages to do photos, thus providing an unwelcome distraction.  I’ve no bother with photos in gigs, but people can distract from the atmosphere if they block other people or take too long.)

In short, they’re a band worth looking at.  On their well-constructed (like their music) website you can see their biography and listen to plenty of their music.  They have a page on Facebook, something useful for Berliners, seeing as the band live there and presumably do gigs there.

In the end Greece lost to Germany.  In solidarity with Greece I went to Pita Pan and had a pita with feta cheese, black olives and chips; a concoction I put together to avoid meat, and it was very tasty.

About Czarny kapturek

Singer, political activist, trainer, tour guide, Polish beer lover, frequenter of Bar Mleczny, bird-watcher and football fan
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

